Gallery

Introducing 2012: Bosnia & Herzegovina!

All the entries for the 2012 contest have been selected and now My Eurovision Diary will introduce them to you!

Entrant: Maya Sar

Maya Sar is a songwriter, composer and singer who works with the biggest names from the Balkan region. For many years she has been a member of Dino Merlin’s band with whom she performed on stage at the 2011 Eurovision Song Contest in Düsseldorf.

She is the founder of a regional humanitarian project, which helps to fight against cervical cancer Moj je život moja pjesma (My Life Is My Song) and the composer and songwriter of the eponymous song. For this she received the Golden Plaque Of The Great Human Heart by the International League of Humanists.

With her first self-penned single „Nespretno“, Maya Sar achieved remarkable success and gained the respect of the audience. She composes for other artists in the family studio Long Play with her husband and producer Mahir Sarihodžić and is also finishing her first solo album.

Entry: Korake ti Znam (I Know Your Steps)

Korake ti Znam is a ballad, it is entirely sung in Bosnian, it was internally selected by BHRT.

The song is composed and penned by Maja Sarihodžić which her stage is Maya Sar.

If you don’t understand the lyrics, here is an English Translation:

Everything I love
Hurts me the most
I still clearly hear
Those steps when You’re gone…

On and on tryin’ to understand
You have many worries
And I, I need to tell You that
Not now, ’cause You’re in a hurry…

Everything I lost
Miss’ the kindness You give
When, where, I don’t know
And if I ask, You just leave…

After all we’ve said and done
You seem more than strong
After all I don’t know where
Did I go wrong…

Don’t make it harder these days
I need love, don’t hurt my feelings
You’ve never suffered this way
‘Cause if You did, how come I’m bleeding, on and on
No more hiding, no lying
Will You give me reason to live
‘Cause I’m dying…

After all I don’t know how and where to start
As if we never, never said before
‘Till death do us apart…’

Tomorrow we will introduce the Lithuanian entry, note that the entries will be introduced according to the running order!

6 comments on “Introducing 2012: Bosnia & Herzegovina!

  1. In 16 years Bosnia & Herzegovina has never sent a song I did not like to ESC and their 17th ESC song will have my full support again, just like their 1993, 1999, 2006, 2007 and 2009 songs. If we talk class, if we talk refinement and sophistication, ‘Korake ti znam’ is very hard to beat. It is a perfectly crafted gentle ballad with fantastic lyrics that will be performed by a real artists who obviously feels and lives what she sings and prefers composing her own songs to jumping around onstage half-naked. Thanks for this gem! 12/12 and 2nd place on my pre-rehearsals list. 🙂

  2. It’s OK, nothing really special, I doubt it will stand out for televoters (except diaspora of course), I saw many comments that it’s so typical and heard many times before..I personally like it, but also think it’s nothing special…

  3. This is one of the two songs that are in a league of their own, the other is Albania’s. Melody, orchestration and vocals work together towards the final outcome: an exquisite song, oozing class and sophistication. This is the best ever Bosnian entry, imo. Thank you, Maja. 🙂

  4. Classy, is the word for this song. Classy and elegant. Bosnia belongs to my top 5 this year, together with Portugal, Estonia, Sweden and Albania. One thing that strikes me is that I never remember the melody, despite having heard it for like seven times. But I enjoy it very much every time I hear it.

Leave a Reply

