Gallery

Introducing 2012: Macedonia!

All the entries for the 2012 contest have been selected and now My Eurovision Diary will introduce them to you!

Entrant: Kaliopi

Kaliopi started her career when she was only 9 years old, winning the first place at a childrens song festival. She gained success and recognition with the band Kaliopi, originally in the former Yugoslav nations. The band became established and guided by Romeo Grill who was also the author of most of the songs. In a short period of time, they published two albums, and participated in some of the biggest festivals and shows in their homeland.

Kaliopi moved to Switzerland for a period but announced her comeback as a solo performer by winning the first place at the Skopje festival in 1996. In 1999 she moved back to FYR Macedonia, with her new album Oboi Me which had been recorded in Switzerland. This album was her last cooperation with Romeo Grill as producer.

Kaliopi has recorded nine albums in total, six of them with herself as writer. Each of them won Album Of The Year recognition. She has become one of the leading music artists in the region. She also works on other creative projects such as composing for Theatre and Ballet. She played the lead role in the first Macedonian musical Cija Si. She has had many collaborations with big artists such as Sting, Renee Fleming, Andreas Scholl and world famous lute player Edin Karamazov.

Entry: Crno I Belo (Црно И Бело)

The song as well as Kaliopi was internally selected by MKRTV, and was presented on February 29th, it’s sung in Macedonian, and it’s composed by Romeo Grill and penned by Kaliopi. Kaliopi will perform in the second semi final

Tomorrow we will introduce the Dutch entry, note that the entries will be introduced according to the running order!

5 comments on “Introducing 2012: Macedonia!

  1. And now we have the next ballad. LOL Normally I am not a ballad guy but this year they certainly rule the contest imo. I really love the first part of the song, when Kaliopi’s voice, which is my favorite this year, is only accompanied by piano and violin, but even if I have come to accept and understand the switch to rock now, I still think that “Crno I belo” loses some of its intensity in the later part of the song. My main issue with Macedonia 2012 is still the ending. In fact, the song doesn’t have a proper ending but simply stops as it is now, which is quite underwhelming. I hope that they will come up with a more convincing solution for ESC. It is still a good song with a fantastic performer though. I do not expect to see and hear Kaliopi in the final but I would love to be proven wrong. 9/12 and 10th place on my pre-rehearsals list. 🙂

    • Awesome singer indeed. Her ballad strikes me as being odd, but it is growing on me. I am loving the former Yugo countries in 2012.

  2. It’s bad. I don’t like it! Still my lovely entry from Macedonia is “Mojot Svet”. And I loved soooooooooo much “PRATI MI SMS” (JESC 2008)! 🙂 Good Luck to my lovely Macedonia! 😉

  3. This is the first Macedonian entry I have truly loved, and it’s been growing on me. She still has a chance at finishing in my top 5, even though she is only my 10th at the current moment.

Leave a Reply

