Gallery

Introducing 2012: Finland!

All the entries for the 2012 contest have been selected and now My Eurovision Diary will introduce them to you!

Entrant: Pernilla Karlsson

Pernilla (21) is a sparklingly cheerful young lady, who won the Finnish Contest for New Music (UMK) in February 2012. The victory means that she will represent Finland at the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest with the song När Jag Blundar (When I Close My Eyes).

Pernilla has a strong and emotional voice, which has received acclaim in Finland. “När Jag Blundar was written for my mother. I relate to the lyrics deeply and I hope this comes through in a universal way – after all, there is an instinctive bond between a mother and a child, regardless of whether they are present in each other’s lives or not. The song expresses gratitude for motherly love and understanding”, Pernilla says.
När Jag Blundar was written by Pernilla’s brother Jonas Karlsson, who is an acclaimed producer in Finland. “This is a family project and I like it that way. These people know me like no-one else and I am able to express myself openly, which is important to me. In addition, my mother is huge fan of the Eurovision Song Contest so you can imagine how overjoyed she is that a song that was written for her by her son and sung by her daughter will be performed in Baku!”, Pernilla laughs.

Entry: När Jag Blundar

This song was selected through UMK, as well as Pernilla, It’s the first song in Swedish since 1998 *Sweden take note* and it’s Composed and Penned by Jonas Karlsson, Pernilla’s brother, När Jag Blundar means ‘When I Close my eyes’

Tomorrow we will introduce the Israeli entry, note that the entries will be introduced according to the running order!

3 comments on “Introducing 2012: Finland!

  1. Finland sends a very gentle ballad this year and it is the most unpretentious … and dare I say authentic? … one too. The melody is beautiful and the lyrics are well written (I wish that I could understand Swedish), very touching without ever getting tacky, which is a pretty difficult thing to achieve. Moreover, Pernilla knows how to sing this song with just the right degree of emotional impact. Yes, it is restrained but you can feel the emotion nevertheless. In a way, Finland perfectly complements Albania this year, restrained emotions here and existential pain there, the perfect couple. She needs a new dress though, and please keep the cellist but drop the dancer who only distracts from this sweet little ballad. 9/12 and 11th place on my pre-rehearsals list.

  2. I love this unassuming ballad. It follow its path very clearly and it knows where it’s going. It’ll stand out among all those who will try to sell their nonexistent songs via the stage presentation. Will it fare well? Well, that’s another story.

  3. A very pleasant and gentle song. Having studied Swedish many years ago, it is a language that I am very fond of and I can still understand some of the lyrics. I am a bit fearful that ‘När Jag Blundar’ may get passed over when it comes to the voting, but I hope not.

Leave a Reply

